Skip to content


Fred Craddock (1928-2015) was Bandy Distinguished Professor of Preaching and New Testament, emeritus, at Candler School of Theology, Emory University, and minister emeritus of Cherry Log Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). He was a sought-after lecturer, an author of several books, and a captivating storyteller.

"A 'preaching genius'" —CNN

The Chalice Press staff, as well as many former and retired employees, give thanks for the devoted life and ministry of our colleague, friend and fellow Disciple, Rev. Fred B. Craddock, who passed away March 6. During his years in the ministry, Fred became well known as one of the country’s most respected, admired, eloquent, and beloved preachers of the Gospel. His down-to-earth story-telling method of sharing the Good News captivated any audience he was preaching to. We are blessed to have had that friendship and collaboration, and we honor his valuable contributions to the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) nationally, regionally and locally with the congregations he served faithfully to during his ministry.

  • The Pre-Existence of Christ in the New Testament, Abingdon Press (1968)
  • As One Without Authority, Chalice Press (1971, rev. 1974 and 1979)
  • Overhearing the Gospel, Chalice Press (1978, rev. 2002)
  • The Gospels, Abingdon Press (1981)
  • Interpretation Bible Commentary: Philippians, Westminster/John Knox (1984)
  • Preaching, Abingdon Press (1985, 2010)
  • Interpretation Bible Commentary: Luke, Westminster/John Knox (1990, rev. 2009)
  • Preaching Through the Christian Year (Years A, B, and C), Trinity (1992, 1993, 1994)
  • Westminster Bible Companion: First and Second Peter and Jude, Westminster/John Knox (1995)
  • New Interpreter’s Bible Volume XII (Hebrews), Abingdon Press (1998)
  • Craddock Stories, Chalice Press (2001)
  • The Cherry Log Sermons, Westminster/John Knox (2001)
  • The People’s New Testament Commentary, Westminster/John Knox (2004, 2010), co-author
  • New Interpreter’s Bible New Testament Survey, Abingdon (2006), co-author
  • Reflections on My Call to Preach: Connecting the Dots, Chalice Press (2009)
  • Craddock on the Craft of Preaching, Chalice Press (2011)
  • The Collected Sermons of Fred B. Craddock, Westminster/John Knox (2011)
  • A Taste of Milk and Honey, Chalice Press (Summer 2015)


Books by Fred Craddock
Reflections on My Call to Preach   Overhearing the Gospel: Revised and Expanded Edition  Craddock on the Craft of Preaching  Craddock Stories   As One Without Authority